Hotel:Bristol and Bath Hotel
66 Cromwell Street
Bristol and Bath Hotel (1869 - 1908)
Volume 2, Building Citations, Part 1, pp. 101-102
HO 97 individually significant
Kearney 1855: N ; Hodgkinson: 1858: N ; MMBW map: Detail Plan 1210, 1899 (named Bath Hotel)
A stone hotel was on this site from at least 1869, but was re-built at some stage, possibly around 1879 (as evidenced by an increase in rateable value). In 1903 it was acquired by the Shamrock Brewery and in 1908 by Carlton & United Breweries. After de-licensing it became a residence.
The building is of local architectural significance, a free standing two storey symmetrical Italianate brick building with restrained decoration. It is particularly noteworthy nowadays that most surrounding nineteenth century housing has been demolished, leaving it standing in the midst of unprepossessing twentieth century industrial development as a testament to a lifestyle long gone.